Huge Issue with Symbols

DaveOzric
721 Posts
DaveOzric posted this 17 May 2018

Hello, I am full out calling this a bug and am shocked it's even an issue. I cannot add a & to my button text while creating a custom button. Why is this stripped out of my text? My client won't be very happy to hear me say I cannot use a completely acceptable symbol on their website.

I know you won't allow me to use these in the HTML5 templates in the page titles in the meta tags but in the content area on a Joomla site?

This is kind of a shock, yes I said it again.

Looking forward to hearing this is going to be fixed in the next update.

Hello, I am full out calling this a bug and am shocked it's even an issue. I cannot add a & to my button text while creating a custom button. Why is this stripped out of my text? My client won't be very happy to hear me say I cannot use a completely acceptable symbol on their website. I know you won't allow me to use these in the HTML5 templates in the page titles in the meta tags but in the content area on a Joomla site? This is kind of a shock, yes I said it again. Looking forward to hearing this is going to be fixed in the next update.
Vote to pay developers attention to this features or issue.
4 Comments
Order By: Standard | Newest
DaveOzric
721 Posts
DaveOzric posted this 17 May 2018

Sorry, I am still a bit miffed that you won't fix this in the HTML5 sites so I can add - or | or & in my page headings or menu items.

Not being able to use this in Joomla is very surprising.

Please fix this asap.

Sorry, I am still a bit miffed that you won't fix this in the HTML5 sites so I can add - or | or & in my page headings or menu items. Not being able to use this in Joomla is very surprising. Please fix this asap.
Support Team
Support Team posted this 18 May 2018

Hi,

The problem is that such input fields use the same validation rules. It sounds like simple task but it requites a lot of modifications and may cause problems inside Themler.
We already added your request to our wish list. Unfortunately I cannot say whether this issue will be fixed or not and when.

Thank you,
Olivia

Hi, The problem is that such input fields use the same validation rules. It sounds like simple task but it requites a lot of modifications and may cause problems inside Themler. We already added your request to our wish list. Unfortunately I cannot say whether this issue will be fixed or not and when. Thank you, Olivia
DaveOzric
721 Posts
DaveOzric posted this 18 May 2018

Well I can see the logic but telling an end user they cannot use a & symbol in their website article is a lot to accept.

I get you did not foresee this but I am really shocked this is an issue in the content editor now after years of development.

I suppose I will have to edit the code for now but I suspect I will need to remember this every time I open this for editing?

Well I can see the logic but telling an end user they cannot use a & symbol in their website article is a lot to accept. I get you did not foresee this but I am really shocked this is an issue in the content editor now after years of development. I suppose I will have to edit the code for now but I suspect I will need to remember this every time I open this for editing?
Support Team
Support Team posted this 21 May 2018

Hi,

We apologize for the inconvenience.
Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Thank you,
Olivia

Hi, We apologize for the inconvenience. Please let us know if you have any further questions. Thank you, Olivia
You must log in or register to leave comments